Ramaya.na : How Google Introduces Its Products and Tells The Ramayana Story

A few month ago, Google just opened its new office in Jakarta. The last, I heard, it is marketing office in Indonesia. We know the Indonesia has prospective Internet market.

Last night, I found something interesting in Google Chrome Experiment. Google has created an web for telling Ramyana Epic Story in Indonesia Language. You could find in here : www.ramaya.na. Here is the site description :

Ramayan a adalah cerita epik tradisional yang kini dibuat interaktif oleh Google Chrome. Nikmati cerita kuno ini dengan cara baru melalui browser Chrome terkini.

Ramayana is epic story, I still remember when I was child, my father told me the story about it when we were together watching puppet show. I also usually watched with my grand mother the story about it by watching puppet (wayang kulit). That was nostalgic. I think I should not put the story plot over here, you could experience it by opening that site or visit it. It also remains me that when I was in senior high school, I together with my friend had ever played Ramayana in English Language Class. If I am not wrong, we played like Wayang Orang with English script.

Google gives another experience when you open that site. That site is similar to children story book (book that when we open it, we will have our book page flipped and suddenly, the castle or the person appear standing). I think that was the basic Idea on interactive story. So, what are the differences? Google uses browser for telling this story and uses the technologies behind it and full music always. Google has elegantly collaborated HTML 5 and pop-up window as the main part of the show. Those are amazing. Stunned.

For the music, It is used traditional music Gamelan. I think three kinds of Gamelan used. They are Javanese, Sundanese , and Balinese. The more interesting is : user also actively interacts in the story. For example, when Rama wants to shot Rahwana or Deer using his arrow, the user should shot in the right target. If the target is shot successfully, the story continues.

In the story, Google shows all its products. Start from Google Chat, Google Map, Google Search, Google Search Products, Google Mail, Blogger, Google Search for Weather, and Google Chrome. I like when Google use Incognito page when shows Rahwana and his sister are incognito-disguised as-hermit and deer. Also, Use Jim’s Dead Page when Rahwana Brother died.

The other interesting thing is :  when user interact to help Rama building a bridge for Hanoman’s soldiers (Troops of Monkeys). User should arrange the pop up windows into bridge. What the interesting. If you look at the bridge background, it will changes the background. Also the arrangement and animation of pop up windows are interesting since it plays well and smoothly. Perhaps, the locations of pop up windows on Monitor are saved.

I have played this story twice and it is still amazed me. Here are some screen shots. All the scripts are in Indonesia.

Opening Screen (captured from ramaya.na)

Playing Ramayana Story (captured from ramaya.na)

Now, I am trying to analyzing the Google Strategy behind this. Even until now, I still don’t know if it has related to new office that opened in Indonesia (read : tehcasia.com).

I think both of them related. Since in Jakarta is marketing office, I believe that the story is effective marketing tool to introduce Google Product and Technologies to Indonesia People. Why culture is effective for promoting? There are some reason perhaps, they are :

1. In Indonesia, Culture is a part of daily lives.

2. Most of Indonesia people start concerning about their culture lately.

3. Culture is like identity for recognizing a nation.

4. Something that related to culture has more attention.

5. Culture directly refer to Indonesia people (does not matter about their education, status, gender, profession, etc).

Because of that, I think, this strategy is effective. Here is the sample fact :

Now, it has been already shared by 790 people by Google+(14:15 WIB). Not only using Google+, people also start shared using other social networks such as Facebook. I see many of my friend recommend this to other friends. People who see have high probability to try it since it is mixing traditional culture and technology.

Get example, there are one person that has never used Google Products. He knows it from other browser such as Mozilla or IE. I believe he interests to open it when he knows it. If he wants to watch it, he should install Google Chrome first. So, He will install it.

The next, when he plays it, he will surprised many thing pop up. And then when he want to +1 to other people, I believe he will register Google Account for Google+. At the default, people would install Google Chrome if they don’t have before.

Because it was interesting, I believe he would share into his friend in his social network accounts. He always share his experience and positive comments. In other word, Google Chrome here is the main gate in introducing Google Products. Interesting, isn’t it?

Google is always creative and out of the box. Amazing collaborating its products to retelling the story. Marketing should make interest people.

Okay, that just review from me. Here are some other people experiences when play it.

I forgot to share, I love the characters. They are similar to Wayang Golek. The castle is similar to Prambanan Temple where Sendra Tari Ramayana is played in Indonesia.

3 thoughts on “Ramaya.na : How Google Introduces Its Products and Tells The Ramayana Story

  1. Ping-balik: Google World Wonders Project : Belajar Keajaiban Dunia Modern dan Kuno « 夏の夢

  2. Ping-balik: Night Sounds: The Gamelan Music of Bali | Follow Me Here…

  3. Ping-balik: Google World Wonders Project : Belajar Keajaiban Dunia Modern dan Kuno « 夏の夢

Tinggalkan Balasan

